About ESE / IES
The Engineering Services Examination (ESE) is a combined four-stage competitive examination (comprising six tests), conducted by the Union Public Services Commission (UPSC) for recruitment to the Indian Engineering Services. IES officers (Class-I) are appointed to civil services that meet the technical and managerial functions of the Government of India. ESE is being considered as the toughest exam in India and due to its selection procedure, IES officers carry high respect and status in society and are able to administer activities and functions of a fairly broad segment of the public sector economy covering the railways, roads, defense, manufacturing, inspection, supply, construction, public works, power, telecommunications, etc. The nature of work performed by these bureaucrats largely depends on their engineering branch and the service or cadre they are recruited in. However, they can move to any cadre, organisation, agency, department, ministry or PSU of the Government of India.
The Engineering Services Exam (ESE) constitutes of a written examination followed by an interview for the personality test. Based on cut-off merit of this examination, the recruitment of qualified candidates will be made to the Group-A services or posts under the following categories:

  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering